MOAB ~ A Photo Essay

After Jackson’s bachelor party, I had been hankering for a getaway of my own.  I wanted just a few days – a bachelorette party for myself.  Ahead of starting my new job next week, the timing worked out that I could sneak away for a trip to Moab.  For those of you who haven’t been there: make it a priority.  Moab offers so much beauty in a relatively small area and it is incredibly varied.  I am in awe that Arches and Canyonlands National Parks are basically across the street from each other.

Rather than talking a lot about the experience, I’m going to just write a quick introduction and then let the photos speak for themselves.

Day 1: Monday, 10/17

I arrived around 4:30pm and set up camp on some BLM land just North of town before heading over to Arches to take some sunset photos.  The campsite I got was EPIC.  So was the sunset.

1-1
Best campsite EVER. No sleeping pad needed.

1-2

1-3
You can see balanced rock on the left here.

Day 2: Tuesday, 10/18

The wind was calm when I woke and I knew this was my window for a good ride.  I biked 63 miles on the La Sal Loop Road.  I rode along the Colorado River, into the Manti-La Sal National Forest, up and over, then back into Moab.  I almost turned around but I kept going, and though I don’t know why, I’m so happy that I pushed forward.  It was the most challenging and rewarding ride I’ve ever taken.

2-1
Colorado River
2-2
Castle Valley Rd
2-3
View of the valley
2-5
Oh the places you’ll go. On your bike.
2-6
Have to ride over all that. Horse Mtn seen here in the distance.
2-7
What goes up, must come down. Weeee!

2-8

Day 3: Wednesday, 10/19

I woke up at 5:30am to catch sunrise at Delicate Arch.  After that, I did a short loop hike past Sand Dunes Arch and Broken Arch.  Tired legs from the bike ride meant the rest of the day involved relaxing at camp with a good book and delicious wine while I soaked in the sun.

3-1
Sunrise at Delicate Arch

3-2

3-4
Sand Dune Arch
3-5
Broken Arch
3-7
Good book + fine wine + campfire = 😀

Day 4: Thursday, 10/20

Up at 6:30am, I broke down camp then drove to Canyonlands.  I hiked the Murphy Trail loop – 10.8 miles in total.  The biggest challenge was hiking down the canyon wall.  One wrong step and you’re done.  Canyonlands is so expansive that I couldn’t narrow down the photos any more.  Even just these don’t do it justice.

4-1
The canyon just begging to be hiked.
4-2
There’s a trail up there. Can you see it?

4-3

4-4
I started at the top of that canyon wall.

4-54-74-84-94-10

4-12
The wash trail
4-13
What goes down must go up?

4-14

4-15
Peace out, Canyonlands!

If these photos don’t convince you to visit Moab… well, that’s fine… less crowded for my next visit ;).

Leave a Reply

